

## PACIFIC-10 CONFERENCE

1350 Treat Boulevard, Suite 500 • Walnut Creek, California 94597-8853 Telephone (925) 932-4411 • Fax (925) 932-4601 • http://www.pac-10.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Contacts: Natalia Ciccone, Chris Dawson

## PAC-10 ANNOUNCES 2010 SPRING SCHOLAR-ATHLETES OF THE YEAR, PRESENTED BY TOYO TIRES®

**WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--** The Pac-10 Conference has named the spring Scholar-Athletes of the Year, presented by Toyo Tires®. These awards have been established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

The Pac-10 Scholar-Athletes for spring include:

Matt Fanelli, Washington State - Baseball, 3.78 - psychology K'Lee Arredondo, Arizona - Softball, 3.55 - psychology Knut Borsheim, Arizona State - Men's Golf, 3.89 - finance Juliana Murcia, Arizona State - Women's golf, 3.80 - sculpture Robert Farah, USC - Men's tennis, 3.15 - economics Lindsay Burdette, Stanford - Women's tennis, 3.11 - American studies Simon Taylor, Washington - Men's rowing, 3.57 - communication Christina Sprouse, UCLA - Women's rowing, 3.77 - physics Ryan Whiting, ASU - Men's track & field, 3.42 - civil engineering Keisha Baker, Oregon - Women's track & field, 3.28 - psychology

"Toyo is proud to support the Pac-10 and to acknowledge outstanding student-athletes for their efforts," said Steve Hutchinson, vice president of marketing, Toyo Tire U.S.A. Corp. "By supporting today's achievers, we feel we are helping to grow tomorrow's leaders."

In order to be eligible for the Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-10 institution nominates one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-10 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-10's 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, men's cross country, women's cross country, football, men's golf, women's golf, women's gymnastics, men's rowing, women's rowing, men's soccer, women's soccer, softball, men's swimming & diving, women's swimming & diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track & field, women's track & field, women's volleyball, and wrestling.

Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo Tires will donate \$1,000 to the scholar-ship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

"We are proud to honor these outstanding student-athletes in partnership with Toyo Tires," said Larry Scott, Commissioner of the Pac-10. "These student-athletes have shown a dedication to their sport and to their academics, and this award honors those achievements. We continue to be appreciative of the relationship with Toyo Tires and helping to recognize these deserving student-athletes and their accomplishments."

The Pac-10 Conference, in cooperation with Pac-10 corporate partner Toyo Tires, established the "Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards, presented by Toyo Tires" during the 2009-10 academic year.

[continued]

## Other nominees included:

Baseball: Rob Folsom, OSU; Justin Uribe, UCLA.

**Softball:** Caylyn Carlson, ASU; Kelly Dyer, OSU; Shannon Koplitz, STAN; Megan Langenfeld, UCLA; Alyson McWherter, WASH; Blair Williamson, ORE.

Men's Golf: Nicholas Grigsby, WSU; Nick Taylor, WASH; Diego Velasquez, OSU.

Women's Golf: Kate Hildahl, ORE; Angela King, STAN; Brittany Stewart, OSU.

Men's Tennis: Ravid Hazi, ARIZ; Richard Wire, STAN.

Women's Tennis: Nadia Abdala, ASU; Joyce Ardies, WASH.

Men's Rowing: Aaron Frankl, STAN; Patrick Kohan, OSU.

Women's Rowing: Corina Chilibeck, WSU; Alex Hasbach, STAN; Katie Humm, OSU; Isabelle Woodward, WASH.

Men's Track & Field: Marco Anzures, UCLA; Cyrus Hostetler, 3.62; Matt Lamb, WSU; Jason Price, USC; Ryan Vu, WASH. Women's Track & Field: Kailey Campbell, WASH; Lisa Egami, WSU; Jaynie Goodbody, STAN; Elizabeth Olear, USC; Tori Pena, UCLA.

To learn more about Toyo Tires and its broad line of tires, log on to www.toyotires.com.

- www.pac-10.org -